Cyrus, King of Persia: the Lord’s Anointed 

Thus saith the Lord to his anointed, to Cyrus, whose right hand I have holden, to subdue nations before him; and I will loose the loins of kings, to open before him the two leaved gates… For Jacob my servant’s sake, and Israel mine elect, I have even called thee by thy name: I have surnamed thee, though thou has not known me…  Isaiah 45:1,4

God spoke to Cyrus through the prophet Isaiah, a hundred years or so before Cyrus was born. He was born a subject of the empire of the Medes. There was no Persian Empire, yet. It remained for Cyrus to found it–with God’s help.

Continue Reading: Cyrus, King of Persia: the Lord’s Anointed » BarbWire.com

Leave a Reply

